Tag: delete

14
Oct
2020
Posted in computer

How to delete your Facebook account on a computer or phone, and save all your personal data in the process

  • It doesn’t take long to delete your Facebook account on either desktop or mobile.
  • Before you delete your Facebook account, you’ll have the chance to download all your photos, posts, and other data.
  • It can take up to 90 days for Facebook to fully erase all of your data, and if you try to log in within 30 days, you can choose to restore your account.
  • Visit Business Insider’s Tech Reference library for more stories.

Whatever your reason is for deleting your Facebook account, accomplishing the task is a bit easier said than done. Facebook has become so ingrained in our culture, that the prospect of deleting your account can be daunting.

Loading...

Load Error

Before deleting your account, you should remember that many apps operate by logging into your Facebook account. It’s important to make sure to sever all those external connections with Facebook, so nothing crashes unexpectedly once your account is gone. Oftentimes, this will mean creating new accounts within your apps.

Last, you’ll likely want to archive all of your photos, videos, and exchanges since you won’t be able to access those once your account is gone. Luckily, Facebook will give you a chance to do this before you delete.

Once you’ve made sure you’re prepared for a life without Facebook, here’s how to delete your Facebook account using your browser or the mobile app.

How to delete your Facebook account from a desktop browser

This is likely your best option since it best allows you to combine the data download process and the actual deletion. But for those who have already downloaded their data, it’s on par with the mobile experience. Here’s how to get it done through your browser:

1. Log into your account.

2. Click the down carrot in the top-right corner and click “Settings